Simple game I made

I’m very new to codea and lua I’ve been reading the codea and lua ebooks by ignatz ,sorry if the code is sloppy

All you do is drag your player and dodge the ball it gets faster and faster as you progress, and the ball moves randomly after awhile

If there’s anything I can do to make it neat please let me know

-- Game
function setup()
    displayMode(LANDSCAPE_LEFT)
    PlayerX = WIDTH/2
    PlayerY = HEIGHT/2
    PlayerWIDTH = 100
    PlayerHEIGHT = 190
    deathY = 0
    deathX = math.random(10,100)
    deathSpeedX = 5
    deathSpeedY = 5
    deathRadius = 10
    deathWIDTH = 10
    deathHEIGHT = 10
    passes = 0 

end

function draw()
  background(40, 40, 50)

if deathX>1000 then passes = passes + 1
end

ellipse(deathX,deathY,deathRadius*10)

ellipse(PlayerX,PlayerY,100)

deathX = deathX + deathSpeedX

if deathX>1100 then deathX = -50
deathY = math.random(0,800)
end

if passes == 30 then deathSpeedX = deathSpeedX + 5
passes = 0
end

if deathSpeedX>20 then deathY = deathY + math.random(-10,20)

end

if deathX>PlayerX-PlayerWIDTH/2 and deathX<=PlayerX+PlayerWIDTH/2 and
 deathY>PlayerY-PlayerHEIGHT/2 and deathY<=PlayerY+PlayerHEIGHT/2 then  restart()

end

function touched(touch)

if touch.x then PlayerX = touch.x
    if touch.y then PlayerY = touch.y
    end

end
    end
    end

Use three (~) before the beginning and after the ending of code to format it. I fixed your above post for you.

Ah I was wondering why my post did that. Thanks

@GLaDOS anytime! Cool little game! I really like when the balls speed up and zig zag. Add in something to keep track of a score. I’m having trouble seeing if I’m actually lasting longer then the previous attempt!

Keep it up!

You seem to have the touched function inside the draw function. I’m guessing you were got confused by all the if statements.

It is much easier to see what is going on if you lay the code out neatly, as below…

But otherwise, it looks fine. Just keep practising and learning!

-- Game