Resizing a large image to a smaller resolution

I am relatively new to graphic design for video games and I’m wondering how to scale a large image to a smaller size without it looking pixelated. I am using an i-Pad app to create assets for a game I’m making with Codea, and it only exports assets at 4096x4096 resolution. When I scale these large images down in codea (with sprite width and height parameters) it appears pixelated at a smaller size, such as 128x128. How would I go about scaling down my assets to a small size while keeping their appearance clean?

@yojimbo2000 So you’re saying it’s just my iPad causing the problem?

@captsmitty77 Since you don’t have a Retina display, the image you’re looking at isn’t as sharp as what we see on a Retina display.

No, I’m saying that inevitably something gets lost when you resize from 4096 to 128. If it were a retina iPad, you’d still be going 4096 to 256.

I think OpenGL’s built in algorithms for handling resizing are pretty good (it doesn’t just discard pixels, it averages them together, I believe). It would take a lot of effort and research to come up with a better downsizing algorithm IMO.

Your best bet is to use assets that are more or less the size you want them to be. Lots of art apps let you change canvas size.

The artefact you sometimes see when downsizing a fine, repetitive texture is called moire. But you’ll only get pixelation going the other way, upsizing.

@captsmitty77 I don’t have a 4096x4096 image to try this on, but I took a 768x1024 image and reduced it to about 128x128 and it looks OK. The white square is 128x128. I’ll try to find a larger image and try it again. Is this what you’re trying to do.

function setup()
    rectMode(CENTER)
end

function draw()
    background(40, 40, 50)
    stroke(255)
    strokeWidth(2)
    noFill()
    sprite("Cargo Bot:Startup Screen",WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2,128) --768x1024
    rect(WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2,128,128)
end