Question: Howto change a sprite after a certain amount of time

Hi all, I’m new to Codea and to Lua, but I’ve been fiddling with coding in for example gamemaker (GML) enough to enjoy the puzzles to get something done. I’ve been catching up with the tutorials of David (Reefwing) to get a jumpstart and I ran into some basic approach questions with regards to drawing sprites.

I’ve tried the Button class from this topic, but I’m sure my question applies for all drawn sprites
http://twolivesleft.com/Codea/Talk/discussion/1298/button-class-with-sprites#Item_16

How would one go about if you wanted to keep the sprite “chest open” for a certain amount of time/frames before it changes back to the closed chest? Or, how would you have a certain sprite shown for a set time and after that timeframe change remove that sprite to draw something else?

Kind regards,
Robin

Not that this is any better but here is another way to do it. This gives you the option of more images based on different variables. The state variable becomes a kind of state machine (I think that’s the right term) so you could have multiple states and a different picture for each one.

Just did a quick edit on this since I missed changing one of the variables name in one line. I went ahead and added a third image. Now if you touch the screen while the chest is open you get a gem. It still resets after 5 seconds to the closed chest.
Let me know what you think.

function setup()
    chestImg = {}
    chestImg[1] = {img = readImage("Planet Cute:Chest Closed")}
    chestImg[2] = {img = readImage("Planet Cute:Chest Open")}
    chestImg[3] = {img = readImage("Planet Cute:Gem Orange")}
    state = 1
    catchGem = false
    et = 0
end

function draw()
    background(40,40,50)
    fill(255)
    text("tap screen to open chest for 5 seconds",WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2+200)
    chest()
end

function chest()
    if ElapsedTime-et>5 then
        state = 1
    end
    sprite(chestImg[state].img,WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2)

end