Possible buyer!

Hiya,

I stumbled upon Codea when talking on a forum about another app ‘GeoVertex’, I’ve been looking at codea for a day or two and watched some youtube on it but I have a heap of questions before I pay £6.99 if you’ll be kind enough to help.

1: I am not a coder, I ‘dabbled’ a little bit with basic in the old days, like ZX Spectrum basic, BBC micro basic, Amos and things like that but I tried to learn C+ once and I’m too thick. Putting your love and bias for the app to one side for a moment, would codea be too complex/hard for me?

2: Can I make ‘stand alone’ apps/games with this, or does everything I make have to be loaded via codea? (ie compile the code into a standalone?) I have a ipad2 and a PC, no mac though.

3: is there a trial/light/test version available to sample?

4: isn’t it hard writing code on a virtual keyboard? its not the most comfortable thing to type with for a long period.

5: is it possible to import your own art/sound into codea apps?

6: is codea viable to code a management game with? (think football manager but in my case, I’d love to create an F1 manager game!)

Thank you for your answers and maybe I will buy this soon.

I’ll answer a couple of these.

1. I come from Basic, too, and Codea reads a lot like Basic, but is much better (in my opinion). It’s compact and elegant, and that’s before you get to all the cool graphics stuff. (I also couldn’t handle C++).

2. You need access to a Mac, and an Apple developers licence, to make stand alone apps.

3. No

4. I used a virtual keyboard for the first two months, and that was ok. A Bluetooth keyboard is better, of course.

5. Art, yes. Sound is minimal at the moment, but we are hearing that this may change.