os.difftime() not calculating difference between two times correctly?

So, I created a small program in Codea which displays the number of times you have tapped the screen. I wanted the “timer” (os.clock()) to start when the user first taps the screen, and I wanted it to end when they’ve reached 5 taps. I then tried to use os.difftime() to calculate the difference in seconds between the two times. The thing is, the number of seconds between the first and fifth tap is not correct; it’s slow. If anyone could help me with this issue, that would be fantastic. Here’s the code (please note I’m not too experienced with Codea or Lua):

x = 0
p = 0
k = 0
n = 0
function setup()
    supportedOrientations(PORTRAIT)
    str = ""
    bcolor= fffff
    l=100
    r=300
    b=575
    t=625
end

function draw()
    background(0, 0, 0, 255)
    stroke(255, 255, 255, 255)
    strokeWidth(10)
    fill(0, 103, 255, 255)
    ellipseMode(CENTER)
    ellipse(CurrentTouch.x, CurrentTouch.y, 200)
    textMode(CENTER)
    rectMode(CENTER)
    font("Futura-Medium")
    fontSize(23)
    fill(255, 255, 255, 255)
    if x == 0 then
        text("Tap here to start!",350,700)
    elseif x == 1 then
        text("You've tapped "..x.." time!",350,700)
    else
        text("You've tapped "..x.." times!",350,700)
    end
    if x == 5 then
        p = p + 1
        if p == 1 then
            print("Congratulations, you've reached 5 taps in "..os.difftime(os.clock(),begintime) .." seconds!")
        end
    end
    if x == 200 then
        k = k + 2
        if k == 2 then
            print("Congratulations, you've reached 200 taps in ".. os.difftime(os.clock(),begintime) .." seconds. Fantastic!")
        end
    end
end

function touched(touch)
    if touch.state == BEGAN then
        n = n + 1
        if n == 1 then
            begintime = os.clock()
        end
    end
    if touch.state == ENDED then
        x = x + 1
    end
end