[OFF TOPIC] Gaming Industry Jobs

I’ve always been interested in working in the Video Game Industry, primarily Level Design. Anyways, Has anyone here worked or still working in the Video Games Industry?

FWIW, I worked in the nascent video games industry back at the dawn of time, and things then were pretty much what people describe now—a kind of controlled chaos with moments of great fun seperated by weeks of grinding it out. Of course, converting Donkey Kong for yet another platform, or coming up with yet another Scrabble clone didn’t take nearly the effort that is given to today’s games. Though, on the third hand, you also had a lot less resources and tools available so the individual effort was still brain squeezingly high. Anyway, I found it fun, until one big name company absolutely stiffed me for pay on a completed project and another company was bought out by an even bigger company who promptly killed our game days before shipping. Then it was time to find a job with a more consistent pay check.

Still, I got to rub elbows with some big dogs before they were big and had some great experiences.

Like any young industry it has its problems, something that the VFX industry (in which I work) has also been going through over the past 10-15 years, namely long working hours/weekend working, increasingly tighter deadlines, a squeeze in salaries, demanding clients/publishers, exploitative work culture and above all, questionable project management.

However, I don’t think its as bad as it seems and things are slowly improving as a) the workforce matures b) as a result, employees seek a better work/life balance and c) more rigorous project management strategies are put in place - these sort of things make a huge difference to the culture of an organisation.