Newbie Slot Machine Project

Hello programmers.

I’ve been looking at Codea on the App Store as I’d love to write games for myself and for the fun of it but I’m not a programmer. I have questions but please be honest

is Codea easy for a total non-programmer to use/learn?

Can you write quality games with it? Say for example could someone who knows codea, write a match 3 gems game as good as bejeweled or an rpg as good as the early 2d Zelda games or a endless runner as good as jetpack joyride?

For a non programmer, would it take weeks, months or years to learn?

Would you recommend a non programmer buy codea or would you say it’s best not to?

Thanks for your reply

Thank you, I have the code inserted and the correct image paths added, it seems to work fine but the test will be the next time I post my code here.

Been having fun and problems today, wanted to add a hold function, but of course touching the screen spins the reels so I had to modify the code and make a tempory start button and only spin the reels when that area is touched then I had to figure out how to get the hold working and display the hold/held buttons etc. I had quite a few problems changing my code but I guess fixing the problems you make is half the fun of it.

I amazingly (for me) have the hold working now on reel 1, so just need to duplicate the code for reels 2-3. I’m also toying with the idea of displaying 3 items on each reel, rather than one. Might not serve much purpose right now but would be needed when (if?) I get to code a nudge function!! I’m getting ahead of myself though.

Perhaps I should have started a blog for this project as I seem to be spamming the forum with my babble. Sorry, I’m just excited about codea and my game. :slight_smile:

For the first: Yes, provided you put in the effort and time.

Depends on how hard and long you try will decide how good you get
Again, If you aren’t going to put in the effort and time, I would say no,

else
print("Get it!")