Newbie here..

Hi newbie here, took the plunge in buying codea a few days ago and as I have two weeks off after today I’m going to try and begin to teach myself. This is not a newbie…“where do I find tutorials” question as I have come across most of them and book marked them. Having no coding experience all I see is a numerical mess lol.

This question goes out to all the self learnt codea programmers who had no programming exp before codea…have you any tips or advice on where you started or what helped you learn quicker, what did you learn 1st, how did you pick it up etc. What’s your story?

Ps Are there any Maths skills I need…I don’t mind brushing up on my Maths before starting codea if it would help me better…

Thanks
Aaron

Welcome @Aaron!

I’d recommend reading over some straight lua tutorials. I started off by playing around with print() in codea. While learning how to use conditionals and loops. A great tutorial project is Lander - http://www.twolivesleft.com/Codea/Talk/discussion/2941/my-first-game-a-tutorial-for-absolute-beginners/p1

Welcome.

Like Briarfox, I suggest you start really simple, don’t try any graphics until you know some Lua. Read the various tutorials, practise a little in Codea - you can write all your practice code just in the setup function, and use print to show the results when you run the program, eg print(x)

Just ignore the draw function for now. It isn’t needed if you aren’t drawing anything.

And ask if you get stuck. We are friendly.

When you understand the basics. Try playing around with the axample apps and
try to understand how they are build up.