NEUROSKY MINDWAVE DEVELOPER QUESTION

Hello everybody I am a hobbyist developer for the mindwave mobile www.neurosky.com/ and it is a device that reads brainwaves like an EEG (because it is one) and allows you to play games with it.

Currently I have gotten an ipad (yay!) and I want to code in lua for it. The ThingGearConnect Driver works with ANY LANGUAGE that accepts sockets http://developer.neurosky.com/docs/lib/exe/fetch.php?media=thinkgear_connector_development_guide.pdf

So I really would like some direction in some sample code on how to connect to sockets and all things networking.

I won’t be able to use the thinkgearconnect drivers on the ipad but I can on the computer which means I MUST write the code on the ipad and it must be code that is acceptable on the computer as well.

Please show me some sample code or tell me the TRUTH about the situation that is unknown.

Btw, lua is a great language. Hopping into it very easily. I already am a C# expert, and I know python and some action script so it’s not new to me really.

Codea does not currently allow access to sockets. I know a bunch of guys on here would really like to be able to use sockets. Hopefully TLL will allow it in the future. Currently we have access to basic http requests with http.request().

Good sir, thank you very much for telling me this completely. Codea does not support socket requests and I appreciate being told that.

Is their anyway I could use the LuaSocket add on in codea or use any add ons?

Is there anyway to apply lua addons in codea at this time?

Thank you very much again good sir you are a gentleman and a scholar.

Furthermore their is another way to use the headset to receive data from it as the developer’s wrote many api’s for it.

Instead of the think gear connect driver their is the

thinkgear communication driver for heavier languages such as C, C#, and C++