My first game - a tutorial for absolute beginners

Following chat in previous threads I’ve put together a (hopefully) super simplistic example for creating a lunar lander game. I would love to hear feedback on it, particularly from beginners as to how easy it is to use, understand, follow and how useful it is. I’ve added a few suggested challenges as potential next steps once you’ve understood the basics.
Video of gameplay:http://youtu.be/0IZYlqKAVj0

-- Noob Lander
-- by West
-- This is a very simple example lunar lander game.  It is intended for use as an introduction into creating your first game in codea and is aimed at absolute beginners.
--The game was built using the following steps:
--1. Place the ship sprite on the screen at a pre-defined position (use one of the pre-loaded sprite packs)
--2. Add x, y and shipsize variables to set up and use these to position the sprite. Try different values of x,y and shipsize
--3. Set y=HEIGHT-100 and x=WIDTH/2 to position the ship near the top centre of the screen. A default shipsize of 25 works well
--4. Add a y=y-1 in the draw loop (ship should move down the screen).
--5. Add in a tap function - if the current touch is BEGAN or MOVING then draw a second "Thruster jet" sprite at the x, y-offset location
--6. Modify 4 to introduce gravity
--7. Add thrust when the screen is touched. This should be factored into the equations of motion
--8. Draw a line to represent the ground
--9. Test to see if the ship has gone below the line (this will be a test on the y coordinate plus an offset equal to half the height of the sprite). If it has, test the current speed of the ship - too fast then crash otherwise win
--10. Implement the "Crash" and "Win" screens 
--11. Add a fuel parameter - can only thrust if there is fuel in the tank. Display current fuel on the screen
--12. Add sounds for thrust and explosions