Move Sprite left/right when button touched

So basically, I want the Sprite to move when I press a button, so left button will move the character left and right button will move the character right. I am an absolute beginner and I think the forums are a good way to help. Thanks!

Unfortunately, we can’t provide individual tuition to every beginner, but we have a wiki link at the top with lots of help to get you started.

I also have some ebooks here. I recommend starting with Lua first, to get a basic feel for the language, and then Codea.

Ok, well thanks for the ebooks.

@CalebAnder - one more thing. You are welcome to post questions, but please keep all your questions about the same project, in one thread as far as possible, to avoid cluttering the forum. (You can edit the original post in your thread if you need to, to change the title).

Ok, will do!

@CalebAnder Here’s an example. You dont need buttons, but you can add them when you learn how.

EDIT: Basically, the whole screen is being used as a button here.

displayMode(FULLSCREEN)

function setup()
    speed=0
    direction=100
    x=WIDTH/2
    y=HEIGHT/2
end

function draw()
    background(40, 40, 50)
    fill(255)
    text("touch the right or left side of the screen",WIDTH/2,HEIGHT-50)
    sprite("SpaceCute:Beetle Ship",x,y,direction,100)  
    x=x+speed  
    if x>WIDTH+50 then
        x=-50
    end
    if x<-50then
        x=WIDTH+50
    end
end

function touched(t)
    if t.x<WIDTH/2 then
        speed=-3
        direction=-100
    else
        speed=3
        direction=100
    end
end

@dave1707 thank you very much, but is there a way that when you press the right/left side of the screen it moves but when you let go it stops?

@CalebAnder why not read the in-app documentation on touch and see if you can work out how to do that yourself? Hint: you need your code to do something when touch.state is ENDED

@yojimbo2000 where would I find that?