Longer processes?

Hi all,

I’m new to the Codea forums, and I’ve enjoyed fiddling around with Codea quite a bit. I’m considering using it for an introductory CS class targeted at Jr. High students, but I had one reservation. I was interested in exploring computational complexity and computability, but I immediately ran into a challenge running longer processes to demonstrate scaling of computational load. I coded a simple Mandelbrot fractal generator, but rather quickly ran into the “Lua program has exceeded instruction limit” message with an image of any resolution higher than 90x90 cells. Now I expected this to happen when the code was embedded in the draw() function with the 30hz rendering cycle callback. But it the problem continued even when I moved the fractal generation code to run in the setup function where I imagined it would run once before the rendering cycle even started, without the cycle time limitation.

So now my question. Is there any simple way to either run a separate thread independent of the rendering cycle? Or is there any way to block the rendering cycle while computing something els? Is there any way to trap the rendering callback event or a precursor to it, or know about when it will happen so code can be written to deal with it intelligently? If not, I’d REALLY like to support adding those features ASAP!

My alternative would be to segment larger arrays that are updated on alternating runs through the rendering cycle.

thanks,
-Phillip

Hi all,