Laggy game

Hello,

So I am currently in the process of making my own version of Pong that has a menu and levels, I have reached a stage though where I have noticed the game start to lag when I run the code on my iPad. This is my first time making a game so I have a hunch that how I have structured my code is the reason it’s so slow, so I will try to explain how I have gone about it.

My game has menu, a paddle selector and a level selector, as well as an in game state. I have turned each of these different screen states into separate classes, in setup() I initialise them all and then call their different functions inside draw() ( inside the main function). However each function coming from these classes is surrounded by an if statement, so the menu screen will only draw if MENUSTATE == true else it will go to the next if statement till it finds a Game state that is true so it can run the code for that classes function. I will add screen shots to help understand what I mean if not I am happy to re word this.

Anyway, is this way of organising my classes using lots of memory because all the games classes are existing but not being used?

I also have a handful of 1000x1000 images in my game which could be the source of slowing the game?

Thanks

I don’t think you’ve shown enough code here to isolate a problem. In Codea’s main project screen, tap and hold on your project icon and choose Export and then Copy Project Code and paste it here and maybe someone can dig in some more.

Okay thankyou

if you have a lot of print statements in the output panel that will eventually slow things down a lot.

@rydergaz Instead of having so many seperate if statements, change them to if else statements.

If ONEPLAYERSTATE == true then
        newpaddle:touched(touch)
elseif MENUSTATE == true then
        menu:touched(touch) 
elseif SELECTORSTATE == true then
        selector:touched(touch)
elseif LEVELSELECTORSTATE == true then
        levelselector:touched(touch)
end