Is there any way to avoid having to exit the app all the time to avoid bugs?

Hi, I love Codea, I just started learning lua and its very cool.

But I can’t believe how often I have to leave the app to avoid bugs.

I have a project that works great, but only the first time it’s run. Usually the second or third time will throw errors. The reset button doesn’t help.

Sometimes leaving the project and starting it again from within Codea is enough, but sometimes I have to leave the app completely before it will run properly again. Sometimes I even have to terminate Codea from the app switcher.

Needless to say, this makes coding somewhat laborious, since I have to exit all the time. Is this SOP around here?

I run into that alot myself. I do something that puts the program in a loop and the only way out is to terminate Codea and start it again. Usually 2 starts before I get in. But I guess that makes me check the code more before I run it.

I’m a bit surprised of your remark: my experience of lua/codea is that debugging is very easy, compared to other langages, as long as you keep the program structure clear and check all your functions with unitary tests. When i get a bug i trace it back from the error message that indicates the line where the error occurs. Usually just ‘print()’ of the variables causing the bug, at various locations, helps to find quickly the root cause. Good luck!

Hi @UberGoober (love the name!) I’m finding the current versions very stable… Are you finding one particular project crashes a lot? Perhaps you have discovered a Codea bug? Any chance you could isolate it? We love to squash bugs, so if you posted a link to your code some folks might be able to help out.

Hi @Jmv38, can you please elaborate a bit on unit testing. Sure, it’s a best practice, but (lacking direct language support in Lua) how does one implement unit tests in Codea?
Thanks!