Importing Sprites from a Sprite Sheet Help

Hello Coders,

I am still very new to this and I have been reading up and studying LUA. I was messing with some spritesheets that I had made on my phone and I wanted to try and create sprites and animate them. I have seen and read numerous posts on sprites/meshes and I cannot seem to find anything that is just as simple as reading from a spritesheet. Any help would be great!

Here are the files I made:

Items: [https://dropbox.com/s/r8i4bt8b43o0hf3/items.png?dl=0[]()](https://www.dropbox.com/s/r8i4bt8b43o0hf3/items.png?dl=0[]())

Link Right 2: https://dropbox.com/s/lpq4sfj90fxvd7y/Link%20Right%202.png?dl=0

Spikey: https://dropbox.com/s/3jhbcwguhtoqox1/Spikey.png?dl=0

Currently I have the following:

displayMode(FULLSCREEN)

function setup()
  spriteMode(CORNER)
 img=readImage("Dropbox:Floor1")
  imgW=img.width
  imgH=img.height
   w=WIDTH/imgW
   h=HEIGHT/imgH
end

function draw()
 background(255,255,255)
for x=0,w do
for y=0,h do
  --   sprite(img,imgW*x,imgH*y)
end
sprite("Dropbox:items",150,150)
sprite("Dropbox:Spikey",WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2)
sprite("Dropbox:Link Right 2",CurrentTouch.x,CurrentTouch.y)
end
end

I have taken out the background so it is easier to see.

The “items” page is a simple sprite sheet I am creating and I just want to know how to select just one image in the sheet and display it. Further more, If I have a number of tiles on the “spikey” image that I would like to animate in place.

If anyone knows of a good resource to learn these or ideas, that would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for the help!

@jpwerner18 Do a forum search on “Sprite sheet” including the " " . There have been several discussions already, and I’m sure those might answer your questions.

@jpwerner18 Here’s an example where I create a Sprite sheet using the planet cute sprites. It then reads each Sprite from the sheet as you tap the screen.

http://codea.io/talk/discussion/3818/sprite-sheet-maker-reader