Image editing programs for games

I am still new to the coding side of this but i was wondering what programs you all are using to create your images. The ones that are in the standard files are great but i wanted to try and design some of my own. I have been using paint to create some minor pixel images but it seems like i cant get around having the white background stay with the image.

Just wondering what you all use to create your images sprites for your projects.

if you want a transparent background you must use png format, but…
you cant copy that from the ipad photo lib, which is jpeg only! So you have to find a way to import them directly to Codea, via http request, or any other means (ifun explorer, or itune transfer from your pc, or send a mail, or dopbox).

@jpwernet18 I HIGHLY recommend getting iDraw for the iPad, its a powerful, easy to learn vector graphics program (meaning you can enlarge the images all you want and they will never loose detail). It can conveniently upload straight to your Codea folder in Dropbox. If you don’t have a Dropbox account made or hooked up with Codea, thats the first step you should take. Its the only sane way to gets lots of art into Codea.

More importantly iDraw gives the option to not include the background when you export. Buying it was the best $8 I’ve ever spent (besides Codea of course). To use vector images you need to export it as a pdf. That file types works fine with Codea. Theres a slight learning curve to vector graphics but if you stick with it, it will be a breeze in no time.

Edit: I used it to make all the art for my game that should be coming out soon