I don't understand the Tutorial

Hi, I’m new in lua/codea programming but I now bases of other programming languages.
So I tried to learn with this tutorial : http://codeatuts.blogspot.com.au/ but at the second part of the tutorial, I don’t understand .
He asked us to copy and paste a part of code and then he is explaining it but I don’t understand.
I’ll copy this code and write with comments what I don’t understand :

function roundRect(x,y,w,h,r)
    pushStyle()
    -- until there, I understand all
    insetPos = vec2(x+r,y+r)
    insetSize = vec2(w-2*r,h-2*r)
    -- I don't now why and how use vec2
    --Copy fill into stroke
    local red,green,blue,a = fill()
    stroke(red,green,blue,a)
    -- what is stroke ? And he don't explain what's a local variable ?
    noSmooth()
    rectMode(CORNER)
    rect(insetPos.x,insetPos.y,insetSize.x,insetSize.y)
    -- what's the function rectMode ?
    if r > 0 then
        smooth()
        lineCapMode(ROUND)
        strokeWidth(r*2)

line(insetPos.x, insetPos.y, 
             insetPos.x + insetSize.x, insetPos.y)
        line(insetPos.x, insetPos.y,
             insetPos.x, insetPos.y + insetSize.y)
        line(insetPos.x, insetPos.y + insetSize.y,
             insetPos.x + insetSize.x, insetPos.y + insetSize.y)
        line(insetPos.x + insetSize.x, insetPos.y,
             insetPos.x + insetSize.x, insetPos.y + insetSize.y)            
         -- I don't understand what are these functions line, how and why use them .
    end
    popStyle()
end

So, thank you very much to explain me this code.

I’ll use this discussion to asks questions about this tutorial if I don’t understand other parts of it .

PS : Sorry if my English isn’t perfect, I’m French .

I do not know what is available in French, but the Lua version 5.0 manual in English will help you understand global variables and local variables in Lua.