How to detect and track Touches?

I am new to codea and am having trouble finding a way to track touches.

What i want to happen is:
when touched, do etc. (then this branches)
/\
If another touch happens, If touch is removed then undo said thing from above.
do this

Details: So what im doing is if i touch the screen i will get the cords of my touch and ID on the screen(not in output). Then if i were to touch the screen with a second finger, i would get the cords and ID of that touch also. What im having trouble with is finding a way to distinguish between 1 finger on the screen or 2+.

I haven’t yet fully grasped how the variables work in this language yet either.

You might want to look at the included Multi-Touch example project. This assigns each touch a random colour, and keeps them organised by their ID.

I had about the same problem to set some camera control. Here is how i solved it

CameraControl = class()

function CameraControl:init()
    -- this is for touch control
    self.touches = {}
    self.x0 = 0
    self.y0 = 0
    self.d0 = 100
end

function CameraControl:touched(touch)
    if touch.state == ENDED then
        self.touches[touch.id] = nil
    else
        self.touches[touch.id] = touch
    end
    local n = 0
    for i,v in pairs(self.touches) do n = n + 1 end
    -- if exactly one touch then move
    if n==1 then self:move(touch) end
    -- if exactly 2 touches then zoom
    if n==2 then self:zoom() end
end

You have in your main setup to define a CameraControl() object,

function setup()
     camControl = CameraControl()
end

and to call it in the touch function

function touched(touch)
    camControl:touched(touch)
end