How old were you when to learned to program, and what language?

For me, I was eleven programming on some site called roblox, and the language was lua.

14, my current age, and Lua, but I know Batch Files and VB Scripting

I think I started learning when I was about 8 years old, on Apple IIe computers at school, where I had an excellent teacher who taught us how to program using BASIC. It changed my life. I also had a Kaypro 2 at home that happened to have BASIC on it as well, which helped reinforce what I was taught at school.

@Toadkick, Wow! Its amazing how fast things have changed over a few decades, isn’t it?

I first learned to program with TI-Basic on my Texas Instrument TI-82 shortly after they came out. 32kb of memory! I was around 13 and i’d make small animations and text based rpg’s. It made me rather popular later on in school. I’d write applications and share them with the class. It helped a few pass math class :slight_smile: It took the teachers awhile to catch on. When they did I was allowed to use whatever I wrote but could not share it :slight_smile:

That is awesome! Nowadays, at least around where I live, kids are not allowed to make programs to help them in math.

I do, they just dont know
My school isnt the most secure in tech or the smartest

I’m teaching right now 12 & 13 y. o. kids how to use lua for mathematics (I’m using this page : codebymath.com).

I think it was about 5 years old as my dad was in computers so we had access to his mainframes. I remember this puppy http://www.old-computers.com/museum/computer.asp?st=1&c=143 around the house, I guess I would have been 6-7 when we had it.

@quezadav That site looks very interesting. Are you a teacher and using it in class, or is it as an after-school club?

On the main theme of the thread: sometime around 8,9 on a CBM64 using Basic.

Interesting thread! Me - 9ish, Basic on a Commodore Pet. Then I pestered my dad for a Sinclair ZX81 (then a Spectrum) and never looked back!