Game AI or in my case just simple Maths

Hello everyone, long time lurker here. But I am learning both to Codea and OOP as an on going process (as I guess we all do), so decided to join the discussions. Or in my case be the discussion due the ton of questions always running around in my mind as I try to code something.

So yes, not an absolute newby, but never the less I beg all your pardons for any stupid questions that might come your unfortunate way from self:init. Oh dear, sorry for that. Let’s hope I will be the the only instance.

I am working on a pong game and with the useful tutorials from various wonderful posters on here and the example apps within Codea I have come quite far. But I am now starting with two aspects, first is the fsm, which I am going through at our aussie colleague’s blog: Minesweeper. Aussies. You know? Bloody cheating cricketing rugbying Aussies. Another matter entirely. Struggling a bit to convert it into my adaptation, but never the less it is not why I am standing with hat in hand.

I want to also create a single player mode, which is giving my poor saffa brain trig nightmares. The “computer’s paddle” movement. Urgh. Stupid paddle. What? Oh yes I am wrapping my head around polar vs cartesian systems. So here is what I got into my small brain so far:

Vectors are really, really cool and sits at the heart of codea, but they can become very complex and knowing which system to use for a newby is quite the experience. Do I apply the Pythagorean theorem or is it not even applicable. So I try to break it down to what is known and what must be calculated: