Fundamental concepts - going loopy

As I said earlier I’m a complete novice so apologies. My mind has not grasped many of the fundamental concepts of the code or of modern programming languages…bring back the vic20! Adventureland nice!

I’ve purchased the programming in lua 5.2 manual and have been skimming through that, along with the operating manual from the internet and have read some of the very helpful codea documentation provided by Ignatz.
I’m trying to understand the relationship between the setup function and the draw function. It is stated that the draw function is running approx 60 times a second which I assume means that it’s on perpetual loop, whilst when I’m reading about efficiencies in coding , things are mentioned such as load a sprite from documents via setup so it only occurs once (as if you load it up in draw then it’s attempting to do it 60 times a second) etc. But setup isn’t just occurring once is it? Because the parameter functions are defined there and can be freely manipulated and even receive information back from the draw function…or are these separately existing functions which are just being setup and called from setup before continuing to exist independently from the setup function?

Is there a correct way of conceptualising the relationship?