From Codea to iPhone App - Possible?

Hello, absolute, bottom tier noob question…

I’m a designer who has always wanted to make games. Codea kind of looked like a good ‘gateway drug’ to get into some kind of programming. So my question is, if I spend the time to work out how Lua/Codea works, how would I then apply that knowledge into making a real iOS app?

I’ve made a HTML app using PhoneGap but would prefer to make something closer to a native app.

Thanks!

Hi Rimfya

At the moment you can’t turn Codea projects into native apps (well, not without re-implementing the backend yourself). You can run them on Mac, Windows and Linux using LoveCodify (see the top of the forums for a discussion).

We are planning to open source the backend of Codea, which will allow porting of your projects to other platforms.

Okay great. So in the meantime, if I’m using Codea to learn Lua those skills aren’t completely wasted as there are other ways to leverage Lua into ios apps?

There is also the Corona SDK, which is a Lua based system for building iPhone apps.

Learning a new programming language, especially one different from what you’re used to, is never a waste of time. Lua especially so - it’s embedded in all sorts of places.

Okay neat! Thanks for the responses.

Side note: Seeing someone else with the name Simeon for the first time in my life is freaking me out…

Yeah that freaks me out too :stuck_out_tongue:

Any chance of this coming down the road? I can already see that I’m going to waste many hours playing in this environment. It would be great to at least have a way to share the results outside of passing along source.

It’s a poor substitute for the glory of an iPad app, but loveCodify (see the stick thread) will let you share your stuff on windows/linux/OSX, and maybe android (not sure that works yet)