Extending a Codea class, in this case physics.body

As I’m not familiar with extending classes in LUA/Codea, somebody may help me out. I tried to use the physics.body property .info to store additional data e.g. an unique name, which I can use for the selection of certain bodies going through the bodies table. The .info property was not functioning in the way I thought. But can I extend the body class with properties like .name, .color and so on? How to do that?
Advice very appreciated, thanks in advance!

I’m not an expert, so you’ll probably get a better advice than mine, but just in case here is how i did it for the mesh class: i create a class that include the object:

MyMesh = class()
function MyMesh:init(name)
   self.ms = mesh()
   self.name = name
end

then i access the mesh properties via myvar.ms and my property xxx via myvar.xxx

the great point with lua is you can add properties on the fly, without initial declaration!

What was the info property doing that you weren’t expecting? I think an issue people have run into with body.info is that they try to set properties on it directly like body.info.myTable = {}, whereas what you need to do is body.info = myTable. I think it might be best to put an empty table in body.info by default so people stop running into this issue.

.@John To me the confusing thing is that body.info initially seems to point at _G, which I don’t understand. At first I disliked your suggestion for putting an empty table in body.info by default, because I thought it would be wasteful in case you didn’t need it, but now that I think about it more I can’t think of a time I’ve ever not needed it (though I’ve not used Codea’s physics library much, I’ve used c++ Box2D in other projects, and usually you would assign the actor that “owns” the body to the ‘userdata’ property, which is what body.info seems to be emulating). So honestly that seems like a pretty good idea.