drawing a single pixel

howdy. I’m trying to find an efficient way to draw a single pixel and came up with the following via Meshes:

Point = class()
-- a point is a mesh rect that is 1px wide and 1px long
function Point:init(x, y, _color)
    -- you can accept and set parameters here
    self.m = mesh()
    self.m:addRect( x, y, 1, 1 )
    self.m:setColors( _color )
end

function Point:draw()
    -- Codea does not automatically call this method
    self.m:draw()
end

any comments on if this is a bad method, or what not?

I think this method would work better. Rather than creating a mesh and setting the 3 verticies to the same color, simply make a 1x1 image and set the pixel color. Here’s the code: (ps, i dont know if this is actually a better method as I am new to coding in codea)

-- Pixel

function setup()
myImage = image(1,1)
myImage:set(1,1,23,56,76,255)
end

function draw()
background(0, 0, 0, 255)
sprite(myImage,WIDTH/2, HEIGHT/2)
end

looks good to me

My question is that once I get a bunch of points being rendered, won’t the rendering engine think each point is a pair of triangles, since they’re constructed of meshes, and thus can easily become bogged down?

every pixel would result in the rendering engine trying to draw 2 triangles. would this be a bottleneck, or would it figure out that it was just rendering a single pixel, and there wouldn’t be a bottle neck?

@Ignatz

How many points are you thinking of?

@matkatmusic - What is your use for this? There are many, many solutions to this, and it the best one largely depends on how often you draw to it and the size of the image. i.e. images have a max size of 2048x2048.

I’m trying to draw some Bézier curves for starters. i’m mainly just experimenting with how to draw pixel-based lines and curves.

for example: