Complete newbie

Im wanting a iPad hobbie and I came across codify (or codea as its to be known). I have downloaded the app but admit I’m a complete novice, no coding experience what so ever BUT I really want to have a stab at this. I’m a good learner when I set my sights on something and am looking forward to getting my teeth into a project.

my question is what are the tips on starting? Is there step by step guide for complete novices? any web links would be appreciated that would help me get started with a project.

It’s all words and numbers to me BUT I WANT TO LEARN :slight_smile:

Help would be much appreciated.

I like your enthusiasm :slight_smile:

It might be good to get familiar with the programming language used by Codea, it’s called Lua and you can find some basic tutorials here:

http://luatut.com/

You can also find a web-based Lua interpreter (a thing you can type commands into, and see output) here:

http://repl.it/ (You’ll have to select Lua as the language you want to use)

And finally a quick overview of Codea

When you start a new project you’re greeted by a file called “Main” which contains two sections of code called functions. One is called setup, and one is called draw.

Setup is run once, as soon as you press the play button.

Draw is then called 60 times per second, and you can put commands inside here to put things on the screen.

So, for example, the following program will draw a circle underneath your finger when you touch the screen (note that lines prefixed with “–” are comments and are ignored, they are just there to make notes for yourself inside your code):

-- Touch example
function setup()
    -- This line is a comment, it is ignored
end

function draw()
    -- First we clear the background color to black
    -- 0, 0, 0 indicates that we want zero amount of red, green, and blue
    background( 0, 0, 0 )

-- We will set the fill color to red, all shapes will be this color