Collision and Physics Bodies

Hey everyone, I am a new programmer into a high school intro to programming class and I’m trying to program a basic game that has a little guy who jumps and tries to hit stars; when he hits the stars, he scores. My major issue is that the falling stars are physics bodies and when they reach the bottom they’re supposed to go back to the top, but the velocity keeps increasing so after a bit they are too fast to even see, is there a way to reset velocity? Another issue I’m having is making the stars “disappear” by going back to the top after they have collided with the character. Right now, when the character hits a star, they both go back to the top and I don’t know how to avoid that. Any help?? Here’s my code:

-- Final

-- Use this function to perform your initial setup
function setup()
    c1=physics.body(CIRCLE, 50)
    c1.position=vec2(WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2)
    c2=physics.body(CIRCLE,50)
    c2.x=WIDTH-math.random(WIDTH/8,WIDTH/2+140)
    c2.y=HEIGHT
    c2.speed=3
    c3=physics.body(CIRCLE,50)
    c3.x=0+math.random(0,WIDTH)
    c3.y=HEIGHT+350
    float3=physics.body(CIRCLE,50)
    float3.x=WIDTH
    float3.y=HEIGHT+700
    float4=physics.body(CIRCLE,50)
    float4.x=0
    float4.y=HEIGHT+1400
    space1=math.random(WIDTH/8,WIDTH/2+140)
    space2=math.random(WIDTH/8,WIDTH/2+140)
    space3=math.random(WIDTH/8,WIDTH/2+140)
    space4=math.random(WIDTH/8,WIDTH/2+140)
    timer=0
    gravity=8
    score=0

end

function draw()
    background(140, 223, 220, 93) 
    sprite("Platformer Art:Water",WIDTH/2,50,WIDTH+100,150)
    sprite("Planet Cute:Character Horn Girl",c1.x,c1.y,100,200)
    timer=timer+DeltaTime
    if timer > 0 then sprite("SpaceCute:Star", c2.x, c2.y,100) end

if timer>1 then sprite("SpaceCute:Star",c3.x,c3.y,200) end

if timer>2 then sprite("Tyrian Remastered:Evil Head",float3.x, float3.y,50) end

if timer>3 then sprite("Tyrian Remastered:Evil Head",float4.x, float4.y,50) end