Codea 2.1 running code very slowly

Hi guys, I can see there’s a big hype for Codea 2.1 released in these days.
But, am I the only one here that noticed anything is now running pretty much slower?
I’m a nooby coder, but nothing I’ve written so far seems running smoothly anymore.
FPS drop very often to 30/40 now, apparently for no reason ( few objects moving on screen ).

Is this all a consequence of my bad coding or anybody else has this same issue?

Code and assets :

Assets : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3106041/Codea.zip
Code : https://gist.github.com/deactive/3116fb1feea2fa151f69

Sorry for the messy code :wink:

Can you give details of your iPad and iOS version, and maybe post some code that runs slow?

Hi @Ignatz, thank you.

Sure thing : Ipad 3, Ios 7.1.2
As for the code, there’s quite some code I did not want you guys to waste your time on, especially when it used to run fine until yesterday.

EDIT : shall I update to IOS 8.1.1 ?

@deactive it’s going to depend on a number of things, is it a big project? Are you able to isolate the thing that is slow?

@Simeon, thank you very much for your interest.
It happens even when there’s a minor bunch of objects moving on the screen.
However I’ve tried the old Mesh sample and it runs just fine and smoothly.
I suspect my bad code is somehow responsible, but why did it run fine with previous Codea versions?

I’ll try either way to put everyting on some repo, including assets, to check what’s wrong with the help of CC.

@deactive it could be the case that something in Codea changed to make a specific part of your code run more slowly. We’ll have to experiment and see.

thanks @simeon, I’ll shortly post the code and the assets.

updated thread description with source code and images.
thank you

• EDIT : shall I update to IOS 8.1.1 ?