Application GUI Questions

Hi everyone.

– Background Info

I’m pretty new to Codea and LUA. I’ve been playing around with it for a while, been doing the tutorials that I could find online (Wish there were more) and been working towards a pet project of mine: An interactive D&D Character Sheet.

I’ve been using the Cider 7 GUI tools by Mark to do some rough prototyping and will eventually want to make my own custom gui using custom graphics. I’m also using a State Machine that I got through the Codea Community. Though I’m wondering if what I’m doing is the most efficient and whether it will scale to what I want the app to end up doing.

– Questions

1. Is there a way to add transitions/animations to a gui using a state machine? E.g. One screen slides to the left as another comes in to view simultaneously, ending in the position of the original screen.
    (One solution I could think of which I believe is probably inefficient is to add a variable to each elements x and y position which tweens on and off screen while drawing both screens at the same time during said transition.)
  2. I’ve been reading up on the speed benefits of using meshes. Would this apply to GUI elements as well? Especially if said GUI elements move around?
  3. Has anyone written any code of or have code examples of a state machine that can transition from one scene to another?

Thanks in advance for any and all sagely advice :slight_smile:

1/ you could print your screens into an image with setContex, then tween those 2 images only.
2/ mesh are the fastest. But precomputing images and spriting them around is not dramatically worse (x2?) and much simpler.
3/ …

Thanks for the reply Jmv.

The context idea looks interesting. Do you mean physically print screen (apple button and power button) for every slide/state/screen? Or is it a function that could turn whatever is currently drawn on the canvas in to an image?

Cool. Meshes are then not a worry ^_^.