AppEvents - An easy to use events framework

Hi everyone,

I’m a professional software developer by day (mainly .net) and a hobbyist developer at any other time i can… I thought the best way to introduce myself would be to come bearing gifts of code :smiley:

So here it is AppEvents - a very small framework which lets you simply define events and use them in a flexible way.

For those who aren’t sure what Events are, they are something which allows us to specify a function to call when something is about to happen, is happening or has happened in code, like a button being pressed, or externally like the user touching the screen.

You can create single events or collections of events as fields on your classes which are then consumable in a global context or a more limited/isolated scope.

ExampleEventObject = class()

function ExampleEventObject:init()

-- globally tracked event
          self.exampleEvent = AppEvents.define("example_event",self)

-- limited scope / local event
          self.exampleEventLocal = Event("Example_event_local",self)

-- globally tracked events collection (which can contain multiple events)
          self.events = AppEvents.track(self)

self.exampleEvent1 = self.events:define("example_event")

-- in this context (self.exampleEvent == self.exampleEvent1) = true

-- limited scope / local events collection
         self.localEvents = Events(self)

end

function setup()
        obj = ExampleEventObject()

obj.exampleEvent:bind(example_event)

obj.events:bind("example_event",example_event)
end

-- handler / callback args can be a fixed number or dynamic 
function example_event(sender,...)
     -- called when "example_event" is raised / triggered
end

You can also use events in a similar way to the Events class in Cargo-Bot (which was partly my inspiration for this).

ExampleEventObject = class()

function ExampleEventObject:init()
end

function ExampleEventObject:bindEvents()

AppEvents.Global.bind("play",ExampleEventObject.play,self)

end