Air Code stability?

Hi all - I’ve done a lot of lua coding at work over the last ~10 years, but I’m new to Codea. I’m using it to teach my kids programming and it is BRILLIANT. Basically the learning environment I’ve been hoping to find for years.

We’ve mostly used Air Code because it seems like the perfect dev environment - a real keyboard and no jumping back and forth between an editor and your app, plus the live updating is very cool. But Air Code is very crashy; yesterday Codea disappeared probably two dozen times in a 3-hour coding session on a small simple app.

Do other folks see similar stability problems? If so how do most people code in Codea? Bluetooth keyboard?

Thanks!

@sc0tt - are you using a pc or Mac to develop on? I have used it quite a bit and find it is a little temperamental but and would be the best development environment if it was more robust. I found the answer was to save frequently and be prepared to keep loading. A little bit more work on the browser interface could make it a first class tool.

Good luck with it, plenty of support on the forums and no end of code/ideas to help you along.

@Bri_G Chrome on a Mac.

What do you mean by “save”? For me Air Code stays running & working when Codea crashes, so we got pretty good at “select all, copy, reload to reconnect to Air Code, paste” to prevent lost work. But in some cases that paste itself would cause a crash, which got tricky.

I wonder if stability would improve by being able to turn off live-update mode and only reload on demand.