About number precision on Codea

Hello everyone.
I am new to Codea, I bouth it just few days ago.
I started by studying the examples and my first program has been a new Mandebrot set drawing program.
I realized that at a not so high zoom level, there are floating point precision artifacts.
What is the floating precision of Codea? The Lua manual states that numbers all are of a unique type, with double precision, but to me it seems there is no evidence of that.
There is some way to get at least a double precision for float variables?
Thank you in advance.

P.S.: sorry for my english.

.@Rosso5 Codea uses 32 bit precision which gives 6 or 7 digits past the decimal point. Do a forum search because this was brought up previously.

Thank you. If I am not wrong, 32 bits correspond to single precision.
I tried to make a search, I saw that stated once, but I would like to be sure and to know if there is some way to increase the precision, otherwise a low of programs would be not-realizable.

There isn’t any way to increase the precision. I would like to see an option to use 64 bit for accuracy or 32 bit for speed. See this discussion.
http://twolivesleft.com/Codea/Talk/discussion/1294/calculator-and-scale-10/p1

Hi @Rosso5. If you do things that really need double pecision (maths or physics), it should be quite easy for you to implement yourself any precision you need? Just define your own +,*,-,/ with the number of bits you want?

Hello @Rosso5. The page on the Codea Wiki here may be of interest to you.

@mpilgrem: thank you, this gives a definitive confirmation.