A way to check devices in Codea?

Hi everybody! With all the helpful tutorials here on Codea on making an universal app, I was wondering if Codea has some way to check what device you are using as I do not know how to do this on Xcode. Also, I have already finished most of my game, but unfortunately when I compiled it on Xcode, it only runs correctly on the iPad and not any of the iPhones as the buttons are too large along with a lot of other stuff. So I am thinking of making two versions in Codea. One for the iPad and one for the iPhone. The only problem is that I do not know how to tell Xcode which one to display.

I greatly appriecate any advice on this subject as I am completely new to Xcode this year!

@YoloSwag Is this what you’re after.

function setup()
    for a,b in pairs(deviceMetrics()) do
        print(b)
    end
end

@dave1707. Yes! So, say if I were to implement this across my app for the iPhone 5 and 5s. Would I have to say…

if b== iPhone5,1 or if b==iPhone 5,2 then
--some variable that becomes true when the user in on an iPhone 
iphonecheck==true 
end

And then for the rest of my app I can just make the precondition that iphonecheck must be true for it to display the different format. Would this work seamlessly in Xcode?

Thank you!

@YoloSwag I’m not sure what the iPhone 5 would show, but you need " " around it. See below for “iPad4,1” .

function setup()
    for a,b in pairs(deviceMetrics()) do
        print(a,b)
        if b=="iPad4,1" then
            print("true")
        end
    end
end

@YoloSwap This might work even better.

function setup()
    if deviceMetrics().platform == "iPad4,1" then
        print("true")
    end
end

@YoloSwag, there is no need to check the device type. I just finished re-coding one of my games to make it universal for all devices. For iPads, the width = 768 and height = 1024 so just use

w = WIDTH/768
h = HEIGHT/1024