A more hands on way of learning lua

Hey everyone. I was wondering if anyone knows a more hands on way of learning lua. (Like it teaches you how to write a code and then has you do it.) I’m reading books on it, but my progress is slow and tedious and I’ve figured that was because I’m going about learning it all the wrong way. Would really appreciate it if you guys could help. Thanks.

There are some blogs and tuts on the wiki and this one is really good:https://coolcodea.wordpress.com. You could look at the example projects and try to understand how they work. Or just try and make a game, start simple and build it up, if you have any problems just ask on here.

@Progrmr235 I can’t say much as I am still a beginner in Codea, but I was really confused about a month ago when I bought Codea. What helped me a lot was as @Coder said visiting cool codea by @Ignatz. There is also a thread at the top of Discussions called FAQ which has a list of wikis and tutorial websites. I also learned a lot from trying to make games. They often started out very basic, but end up being quite cool in the end. One tip: Just don’t give up. If you feel that your game idea has concepts that are too difficult, try to understand them and continue on. The forums are very helpful. Try searching your problem and if you can’t find anything about it, start your own thread. As I have already learned, all the members on the forum are very helpful and willing to answer your questions. If you still can’t figure it out, try something else and go back to it later. There is no point in completely skipping a concept as you will have to use it eventually.

My personal favorite is this: http://tylerneylon.com/a/learn-lua/
Even if you think you know everything about Lua, I learned a bit when I browsed it.

Also look at the step by step projects on the wiki link above. They start simply and add features, one step at a time.