3D rendering on Codea

Hey there,

First time here, I first want to thank you guys for making such a nice app :wink:

I just finished building my first Codea app, I wanted to make a little 3D renderer for fun, but I wasn’t expecting Codea to be so fast.

Edit: Think i’m nearly done with optimizing the code…Now hitting 36 fps in quality 2 on iPad 1 (that’s 4096 polygons or 12 288 vertices!)

update: Textures are up and running:

http://i42.tinypic.com/b9ghw5.png

http://i41.tinypic.com/90vchz.png

http://i44.tinypic.com/1zbdyxk.png

Video on shading:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3n-7irqpbw

Old video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtCZs4LYRoY

Source: http://pastebin.com/i7P5wLmC (updated to shading)

Cheers,
Xavier

Wow, that’s just awesome!

Tells you about Codea. That’s awsome. Code?

Hey there and thanks for the comments,

Regarding the code, I’m new to lua, so I’m sure people are going to mock me hehe :stuck_out_tongue:

Seriously though, I want to clean it up and comment it before I share it. I’ll try to optimize it some more on my own too, but forums could actually be a pretty nice place for me to get insight on how to make it run faster…

Cheers,

Xavier

I accept messy coders… You won’t be mocked… I promise.

Xavier that’s incredible. Do you mind if we show it off as a news item on the Codea main screen?

oh absolutely not, that would actually make me fell pretty good about myself heh :stuck_out_tongue:
It’s 5 in the morning here in france, i’ll clean up the code tomorrow and post it before this WE Zoyt )

Cheers,

Xavier

No problem @Xavier — I just meant the video, by the way.

This is awesome! You guys keep surprising me with what you’ve done with Codea. Try to remove the text. It might increase the frame rate a bit. :slight_smile:

I want to see this code! You have far more vertices than I managed in my 3D viewer before I got a noticeable lag in the rendering - I want to see where the saving is.

Welcome to the community Xavier! :slight_smile: