Frustrations

I have been playing with Codea for a few weeks now, and I’m really having a hard time wrapping my brain around the language. I will admit that I am not a programmer, but have dabbled, and want to learn. I have been reading the references, example codes (learned some things through manipulating them), and have done the tutorials. I have done my own coding and was able to draw an ellipse and square. I even applied some gravity to the shapes to make them move according to the tilt of the iPad. I just don’t know where to go from there. This is not like GML (I think that is object based programming?), and I feel stuck.

Sorry for the venting. I think Codea is really neat. People can do super cool things with it. I just wish I understood it more, and that there was better explanation why you use certain code to do certain things. I will keep plugging along.

It took me a little bit too. What really helped is that I started to really get in to Python at the exact same time as Codea.

Both are similar in some senses. There are a few quarks in both that can throw you off if you arn’t paying attention. Yes this can do object oriented stuff too. In fact, many of the Object Oriented Principles I learned in Codea I was able to use to apply right in to Python. Before that, I had no concept of creating Objects and Instances, etc.

The best advice I can give is to keep working at it. Start basic and move forward from there. It helps to have something that you want to work toward or have an idea. Then struggle your way until you reach your goal. By the time that all happens, you will feel confident in all the things that were once so hard, but now they are easier.

Best of luck and keep with it!

@LadyJayne applying gravity to some shapes was an excellent way to start, and I think tackling some more simple ideas will help you move into more advanced areas.

You could try working on the following ideas