Beginning of my multiplayer project with sockets.

I have been experimenting with sockets lately with the purpose of a simple multiplayer game. I hope to use the system to make a 3d multiplayer on day but as I have no knowledge of how to work with 3d I am sticking to basic 2d.
This is what I have made so far. It is designed to be two player, all you need to do is fill in two blanks, one with your IP address and the other with the ip of the other player. It has no features other than up/down and left/right movement, but we all have to start some where.

https://gist.github.com/anonymous/de5b97f5d1736448cf23

I’m wondering why you require manual entry of the IP address, when JakAttak has created a multiplayer class with good functionality including automatic lookup of IP address, as well as the ability to search for other iPads. Why not use (and help refine) that library?

I can help you with 3D, but I strongly recommend getting it working well in 2D first. If you can keep the socket stuff completely separate, it can be dropped into a 3D scene easily enough.

Partially because I’m still new with sockets and I’m figuring out what works and what doesn’t. I didn’t want to choose the most complex example to study as the first one I take a look at.

It’s your choice, but I don’t see the point of reinventing the wheel on things like identifying local ip port. I would be interested in helping, if
the starting point was JakAttak’s library, trying to understand and explain it (because I don’t like black boxes any more than you seem to), improving it if possible, and building from there. He’s broken the back of many of the problems.

I took the multiplayer setup JakAttak made for a test run and it looks really promising

I would love to have some help with the 3d aspect of it if I get to that point. A year of two ago before I got on the forums i came across wraiths in the mist. I’m glad I know who made it.